Feminist Picks

Feminist books we recommend

White Tears/Brown Scars: How White Feminism Betrays Women of Color Cover Image
$13.56
ISBN: 9781948226745
Availability: Available
Published: Catapult - October 6th, 2020

Called "powerful and provocative" by Dr. Ibram X. Kendi, author of the New York Times bestselling How to be an Antiracist, this explosive book of history and cultural criticism reveals how white feminism has been used as a weapon of white supremacy and patriarchy deployed against Black and Indigenous women, and women of color.


Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9781250112880
Availability: Available
Published: Picador - March 5th, 2019

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An Emma Watson "Our Shared Shelf" Selection for November/December 2018 • NAMED A BEST BOOK OF 2018/ MENTIONED BY: The New York Public Library Mashable • The Atlantic Bustle The Root • Politico Magazine ("What the 2020 Candidates Are Reading


Cassandra Speaks: When Women Are the Storytellers, the Human Story Changes Cover Image
$22.39
ISBN: 9780062887184
Availability: Available
Published: Harper Wave - September 15th, 2020

What story would Eve have told about picking the apple? Why is Pandora blamed for opening the box? And what about the fate of Cassandra who was blessed with knowing the future but cursed so that no one believed her? What if women had been the storytellers?


Sensuous Knowledge: A Black Feminist Approach for Everyone Cover Image
$20.79
ISBN: 9780062877062
Availability: Available
Published: Amistad - March 31st, 2020

The creator of the internationally popular, multiple award-winning blog MsAfropolitan applies an Africa-centered feminist sensibility to issues of racism and sexism, challenging our illusions about oppression and liberation and daring women to embrace their power.

Sensuous Knowledge is a collection of thought provoking essays that explore questions ce


Pre-Order Now Badge
White Feminism: From the Suffragettes to Influencers and Who They Leave Behind Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9781982134419
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Atria Books - January 5th, 2021

A timely and impassioned exploration of how our society has commodified feminism and continues to systemically shut out women of color—perfect for fans of White Fragility and Good and Mad.


Be Your Own Heroine: Life lessons from literature Cover Image
$7.96
ISBN: 9781782498964
Availability: Available
Published: CICO Books - October 20th, 2020

Learn about life from heroines of every era.

Having brought you the wisdom of Austen in Be More Jane, eager reader Sophie Andrews joins forces with her sister Charlotte and turns her attention to what can be learned from the heroines of other stories from past and present.


The Selected Works of Audre Lorde Cover Image
By Audre Lorde, Roxane Gay (Editor), Roxane Gay (Introduction by)
$13.56
ISBN: 9781324004615
Availability: Available
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 8th, 2020

A definitive selection of Audre Lorde’s "intelligent, fierce, powerful, sensual, provocative, indelible" (Roxane Gay) prose and poetry, for a new generation of readers.


Roar Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9781538730966
Availability: Available
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 16th, 2019

From the bestselling author of P.S., I Love You, a fiercely feminist story collection that illuminates -- sometimes in fantastical ways -- how women of all kinds navigate the world today.


Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9780525510567
Availability: Available
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - July 14th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “From The New Yorker’s beloved cultural critic comes a bold, unflinching collection of essays about self-deception, examining everything from scammer culture to reality television.”—Esquire
 


Dead Girls: Essays on Surviving an American Obsession Cover Image
$12.79
ISBN: 9780062657145
Availability: Available
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - June 26th, 2018

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2018

An Edgar Award nominee for best critical / biographical

Best of 2018 according to Kirkus, The Boston Globe, The New York Times, The Portland Mercury, Bustle, Thrillist, and Electric Lit


Bad Feminist: Essays Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780062282712
Availability: Available
Published: Harper Perennial - August 5th, 2014

From the author of Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body, the New York Times Bestseller and Best Book of the Year at NPR, the Boston Globe, Newsweek, and many more

A collection of essays spanning politics, criticism, and feminism from one of the most-watched young cultural observers of her generation, Roxane Gay.


The Women Who Wrote Their Way Into History

A packed timeline of the greatest women writers. From the first recorded writer to current bestsellers, Becca Anderson takes us through time and highlights women who have left their mark on the literary world.


x + y: A Mathematician's Manifesto for Rethinking Gender Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9781541646506
Availability: Available
Published: Basic Books - August 25th, 2020

A brilliant mathematician examines the complexity of gender and society and forges a path out of inequality.


SHOUT Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780670012107
Availability: Available
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 12th, 2019

A New York Times bestseller and one of 2019's best-reviewed books, a poetic memoir and call to action from the award-winning author of Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson!


The Book of Gutsy Women: Favorite Stories of Courage and Resilience Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501178412
Availability: Available
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 1st, 2019

Hillary Rodham Clinton and her daughter, Chelsea, share the stories of the gutsy women who have inspired them—women with the courage to stand up to the status quo, ask hard questions, and get the job done.

She couldn’t have been more than seven or eight years old. “Go ahead, ask your question,” her father urged, nudging her forward.


Rodham: A Novel Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780399590917
Availability: Available
Published: Random House - May 19th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the author of American Wife and Eligible . . . He proposed. She said no. And it changed her life forever.
 


She Came to Slay: The Life and Times of Harriet Tubman Cover Image
$19.19
ISBN: 9781982139599
Availability: Available
Published: 37 Ink - November 5th, 2019

In the bestselling tradition of The Notorious RBG comes a lively, informative, and illustrated tribute to one of the most exceptional women in American history—Harriet Tubman—a heroine whose fearlessness and activism still resonates today.

Harriet Tubman is best known as one of the most famous conductors on the Underground Railroad.


Yes Means Yes!: Visions of Female Sexual Power and a World without Rape Cover Image
By Jaclyn Friedman (Editor), Jessica Valenti (Editor)
$13.59
ISBN: 9781580058988
Availability: Available
Published: Seal Press - March 5th, 2019

This groundbreaking feminist classic dismantles the way we view rape in our culture and replaces it with a genuine understanding and respect for female sexual pleasure.


Yale Needs Women: How the First Group of Girls Rewrote the Rules of an Ivy League Giant Cover Image
$20.79
ISBN: 9781492687740
Availability: Available
Published: Sourcebooks - September 10th, 2019

WINNER OF THE 2020 CONNECTICUT BOOK AWARD FOR NONFICTION AND NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS FOR BOOK CLUBS IN 2021 BY BOOKBROWSE


We Want Our Bodies Back: Poems Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062955289
Availability: Available
Published: Amistad - March 31st, 2020

“WE WANT OUR BODIES BACK URGES BLACK WOMEN TO DEMAND BETTER FROM MEN.” -ESSENCE

“MASTER POET JESSICA CARE MOORE GIFTS US THIS LATEST COLLECTION OF SHARP, SMART AND DEFIANT PIECES.” -MS. MAGAZINE

BOOKS BY BLACK WOMEN WE CAN’T WAIT TO READ IN 2020 -REFINERY29


We Are Not Here to Be Bystanders: A Memoir of Love and Resistance Cover Image
By Linda Sarsour, Harry Belafonte (Foreword by)
$20.80
ISBN: 9781982105167
Availability: Available
Published: 37 Ink - March 3rd, 2020

Linda Sarsour, co-organizer of the Women’s March, shares an “unforgettable memoir” (Booklist) about how growing up Palestinian Muslim American, feminist, and empowered moved her to become a globally recognized activist on behalf of marginalized communities across the country.

On a chilly spring morning in Brooklyn, nineteen-year-old Linda Sarsour stared at he


The Guilty Feminist: You Don't Have to Be Perfect to Overthrow the Patriarchy Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9781580059541
Availability: Available
Published: Seal Press - December 31st, 2019

A witty take on feminism for every woman who wants equality but sometimes wants a day off from fighting for it


So Here's the Thing . . .: Notes on Growing Up, Getting Older, and Trusting Your Gut Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9781538731550
Availability: Available
Published: Twelve - March 5th, 2019

From the New York Times bestselling author of Who Thought This Was a Good Idea? comes a fun, frank book of reflections, essays, and interviews on topics important to young women, ranging from politics and career to motherhood, sisterhood, and making and sustaining relationships of all kinds in the age of social media.


She Proclaims: Our Declaration of Independence from a Man's World Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9781538750650
Availability: Available
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 21st, 2020

Take action and shatter the glass ceiling with this empowering and optimistic feminist guide from the #1 New York Timesbestselling author of Dear Madam President.

In an era marked by a frustrating sense of stagnation for women, Jennifer Palmieri has found a way to move beyond the bounds of


Hood Feminism: Notes from the Women That a Movement Forgot Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780525560548
Availability: Available
Published: Viking - February 25th, 2020

A New York Times Bestseller
A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of 2020

"If Hood Feminism is a searing indictment of mainstream feminism, it is also an invitation. . . . [Kendall] offers guidance for how we can all do better."--NPR


"A must-read for any woman who is ready to design a life on her own terms.” – Sophia Amoruso, Founder and CEO, Girlboss


Beowulf: A New Translation Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9780374110031
Availability: Available
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - August 25th, 2020

Picked for Kirkus Reviews’ Best Fiction in Translation of 2020. Named a Book of the Year by The New Statesman.

A new, feminist translation of Beowulf by the author of the much-buzzed-about novel The Mere Wife